Just Show Up, Darling.

Just show up, as you are. You don’t have to look or feel great. You don’t have to be prepared for each challenge or know all the hows of every situation. You don’t have to be fearless, or have all the answers, or be 100% ready. Nobody is any of these things. Nobody ever was. It’s not about being perfect, at all. You just have to show up, as you are, despite all the objections and insecurities of your mind, despite each and every fear that threatens to hold you back, despite the limitations and criticisms others will place on you. To hell with it all. This is your life, your journey, your adventure, and all it’s asking of you is to show up for it, as you are. That’s enough. That’s more than enough. That’s everything.

It’s amazing how you always inspire me. How you give me so many different kinds of emotion all at the same time. You make me want to write everything I feel about. You make me want to express every single thought in my head into words. I remember when you asked for some “alone time” the other day. You were so down, lost, and confused. You told me you need time to think and compose yourself so you can prepare for another job interview the next day. I tried my best to encourage you (refer to the above message). I want you to remember these words, always. 

Leave a Reply

